A virtual “home” – what makes it a home?

0osgridhome3_001

I built this house in Second Life spring 2009. It was the first house i ever built after my rezz in october 2008 and I made it simple. But it was still a struggle for a newbie like me! Eventually i got it finished. Since then I have built a lot of houses but this is the house i prefer myself. I always rezz it when I get a new home. Somehow it makes me feel safe. I guess it’s because I see something familiar when i look at it..
I have imported the house to inWorldz, Kitely and OsGrid but not yet Cloud Party as they require mesh and I havent converted it yet. The picture above is from my home in OsGrid.

0iwhouse11_001

The first grid I imported it to, from Second Life, was inWorldz. Inwordz is my main home where I feel totally safe among my friends ♥
The picture above is from inWorldz october 2013 but i imported the cabin as early as 2010-2011 first time. After that I have modified it slightly and you can find it in different colours. If you want a copy just holler and i send u 1 :):)

The last picture is from Kitely:

What makes you feel at home? Is it the same kind of feeling in the virtual as in the real world? Most of us need a home or a safe place in all words. And we have a right to protect our privacy. That is why we react so strong when people violate that right and intrude upon us.

In real life the police helps us to protect ourselves but i virtual worlds we only have ToS and the grid managers to rely on. That is why it is so important for a grid/virtual world, to have resources to handle these kind of intrusions in peoples private lifes. If they prove they can handle it, people will feel secure and the world will get a chance to flourish.

Links:

Second Life: http://secondlife.com/
InWorldz: http://inworldz.com/
Kitely: http://www.kitely.com/
OsGrid: http://www.osgrid.org/
Cloud Party: https://www.cloudparty.com/

Tags: , ,

12 Responses to “A virtual “home” – what makes it a home?”

  1. I no longer have a home in virtuality, finding the cost steep , but I know what you mean tho, I had one for so long 4 or 5 years, the same plot of land. In my real life, home is the full heart I feel when I get home from work, kick off my shoos in the entryway, close the door behind me, scritch KT’s ears, close my eyes, and sigh because I know that in this great big world, this little space, this condo, this pet, it’s all mine. <3

  2. I had a lot to say about this. ;) So I blogged it myself. Interesting points, Mera. Got me thinking. http://tarber.net/?p=319

  3. <>
    Oh yes, PLEASE SEND me a copy of that wonderful little house: Bay Sweetwater in Second Life.

Trackbacks

You are welcome to leave a Reply

